Javascript must be enabled to continue!


The Governance and Advisory Board consists of founding members, Presidents and Vice Presidents from ten prestigious Universities in the MENA region and their counterparts in Europe. It will meet on annual basis and has the ultimate overall decision making for ARELEN.

MENA Members

Prof. Sultan Abou Orabi

Secretary General of AArU

Dr Omar Jarrah
Prof. Ismail Abdel Ghafar
Prof. Hatem Alamy
Prof. Munther Momany

President of Alhosnu University - UAE

Prof. Tariq Obaide
Prof. Essam El Kordi

President of Alexandria University - Egypt

Professor Ali Shams El-Din

Head of Leadership and Management Projects - Suprememe Council of Universities, Egypt 

European Members

Professor Cara Carmichael Aitchison

President and Vice-Chancellor Cardiff Metropolitan University - UK

Prof. Mohamed Loutfi

Pro Vice Chancellor, Cardiff Metropolitan University - UK (Founding member)

Prof. Francesco Ubertini

President of Bologna University - Italy

Prof. Daniel Hernández Ruipérez

Rector of University of Salamanca – Spain

Prof. Dídac Ramírez i Sarrió

President of Barcelona University - Spain

Prof Arnold van Zyl

Rector of TU Chemnitz – Germany

Regional and International Members

Prof. Issa Al Bulushi

Chairman and CEO, Gulf College - Sultanate of Oman

Alison Johns

Chief Executive of Leadership Foundation

Prof. Hossam Badrawi

President, Badrawi Foundation - Egypt

Prof. Sijbolt Noorda
Prof. Luciano Saso

Member of the Steering Committee of UNICA - Network of Universities from the Capitals of Europe

Mrs. Lesley Wilson

Secretary General for the European University Association